2019 AIN Conference Registration is Open

New York 2019


In partnership with the Alda Center For Communicating Science

Conference title: Communicating Beyond Borders and Barriers: Applications Of Improvisation In Society.
Dates: August 8-11, 2019
Location: The Charles B. Wang Center at Stony Brook University
Learning Journeys: August 7 & 8, 2019 in New York City and at Stony Brook University

At a time when the world is clamoring for collaboration, connection and creative problem-solving, AIN is poised to offer what promises to be one of our most expansive, inclusive and dynamic conferences yet. How does improv help us understand across difference? How does it allow us to exercise and strengthen our empathy, courage and range?  What tools, mindsets, opportunities, insights, solutions, bridges, and salves can it provide? Exploring these questions and more through shared experience, conversations, performances, discussions and expert presentations, the conference intends to expand our individual and professional expertise and inspiration.

Submissions to present at the 2019 AIN Conference are open until March 31, 2019. Click here to apply or go to our FAQ page to find more info.

The Early Bird registration rate is $585 through June 1, 2019. This covers meals, all conference events, and performances by some of New York’s top improv teams.

Accommodation books links will be share with registration, you can also view accommodation information by clicking here.

The options include:

  • Stony Brook University campus housing (dorms) $84/night
  • Hilton Garden Inn At Stony Brook on campus hotel $189/night
  • Holiday Inn Express at Stony Brook – 2 miles from campus, shuttle to and from campus included: $144/night

Both hotels include breakfast. The conference provides breakfast for anyone staying in campus housing.


Looking for more information about the conference?

Be sure to check out the 2019 Stony Brook FAQ page.

Jude Treder-Wolff, Conference Chair
Richard Krysztoforski, Program Committee Chair
Program Committee: Kat Koppett, Marian Rich and John Martain
Cathy Salit, Learning Journeys Chair
Michelle Macau, Diversity & Inclusion Conference Committee Chair
Martha Kahan, Entertainment Coordinator
Beth Boynton, Written Content Committee Chair
Written Content Committee: Margot Escott and Liz Korback Emerson